A Meeting of the Board of Education of the Ozark Mountain School District.

Type: Regular Session

Place: Bruno-Pyatt Campus

Time: 6:00 p.m.

Date: February 21, 2023

Members Present: Travis Freeman, Donald Morris, Travis Dixon, Ben Taylor, Jesse Rose, and

Randy Brumley

Members Absent: Gary Lovell

Ozark Mountain School Board President, Mr. Travis Freeman, called the Board meeting to order at 6:03 p.m...

Mr. Lewis recommended that the Board approve the December 15, 2022 Regular Session Board Minutes as presented. Donald Morris made the motion to accept the Board Minutes as presented, Travis Dixon second and the motion unanimously passed. Mr. Lewis made the recommendation to approve the January 26, 2023 Regular Session Board Minutes as presented. Travis Dixon made the motion to accept as presented, Ben Taylor second and the motion unanimously passed.

Mr. Lewis presented the Financial Report for month ending January 31, 2023. OMSD reports an ending balance of \$5,493,863.16. After discussion, Ben Taylor made the motion to accept the January 2023 Financial Report, Donald Morris second, and the motion unanimously passed.

Mr. Lewis recommended that the Board enter into Executive Session to discuss Personnel. Travis Dixon made the motion at 6:08 p.m., Randy Brumley second and the motion unanimously passed to enter Executive Session. At 7:42 p.m., Donald Morris made the motion to reconvene into Regular Session, Ben Taylor second and the motion unanimously passed.

Mr. Lewis recommended the Board accept the resignation of Ashley Wyatt as third grade teacher on the St. Joe Campus. Ben Taylor made the motion to accept the resignation, Donald Morris second and the motion unanimously passed. Mr. Lewis then made the recommendation to hire Elizabeth Barton as a Level I Cook on the Bruno-Pyatt Campus. Randy Brumley made the recommendation to accept the new hire as presented, Jesse Rose second and the motion unanimously passed.

## **Resignation of Position:**

Certified Employee Name Position

Ashley Wyatt SJ – Third Grade

<u>Classified Employee Name</u> <u>Position</u>

## **New Hires:**

Name Certified Position

None None

Name Classified Position

Elizabeth Barton BP – Level I Cook

Mr. Lewis made the recommendation for the following Administrative Configuration for the 2023-2024 School Year:

John McCleary – OMHS Principal

Billy Carter - Western Grove Elementary Principal

Terin Hollis - Bruno-Pyatt Elementary Principal

**LEA Supervisor** 

Jess Knapp – St. Joe Elementary Principal

District Elementary Curriculum Facilitator
District Elementary Professional Development

Nichole Cunningham – Federal Programs Coordinator

High School Curriculum Facilitator High School Professional Development

**Digital Program Director** 

Licensure

**District Grant Writer** 

Randy Brumley made the motion to accept the Administrative Configuration as presented for the 2023-2024 School Year, Jesse Rose second and the motion unanimously passed.

Next on the agenda was the Supertindent's Contract. Travis Dixon made the motion to extend Mr. Lewis' contract by three years, ending June 30, 2026. Donald Morris second and the motion unanimously passed.

Mr. Lewis shared with the Board recent School Safety Commission updates, the DESE School Safety Grant, an upcoming Safety Audit with Alisa Jones scheduled for March 7, 2023, and then called upon Kurt Banta with Emergency Response Training (ERT) to field questions from Board Members. ERT offers to provide range and onsite training, sixty hours (60), for up to fifteen OMSD armed staff for the 2023-2024 school year and annual certification training for the group. A stipend would also be granted for the selected OMSD staff members to purchase a weapon, holster, safety equipment, ammunition bag and a safe for storing their weapon. Mr. Lewis shared that Federal Funds could be used to cover half of the cost and the remainder would come from Operating Funds. Donald Morris made the motion to arm screened and selected OMSD staff (up to fifteen) and hire Kurt Banta with ERT to provide the initial and annual certification training for those selected for the 2023-2024 School Year. Travis Dixon second and the motion unanimously passed.

Next on the agenda was information pertaining to the 2023 Election Documents. Mr. Lewis shared the School Board Election date of May 9, 2023 and a timeline for candidates to file, and election documents prepared by First Security Beardsley. Mr. Lewis recommended that the

Board adopt the attached Proposed Budget of Expenditures with Tax Levy for Fiscal Year Beginning July 1, 2024 to and including June 30, 2025 and to approve the related Sample Ballot. Ben Taylor made the motion to accept as presented, Randy Brumley second and the motion unanimously passed.

Mr. Lewis recommended that the Board approve the slate of Petition for Transfer of Students as presented. Travis Dixon made the motion to accept the transfers, Jesse Rose second and the motion unanimously passed.

## **Transfers In To Ozark Mountain School District:**

Student Name	<u>Age</u>	Resident District	<b>Receiving District</b>
Tyler Caldwell	11	Valley Springs	OMSD – BP
Spencer Overman	14	Valley Springs	OMSD – WG

## **Transfers Out of Ozark Mountain School District:**

Student Name	<u>Age</u>	<b>Resident District</b>	<b>Receiving District</b>
Adam Stewart, II	17	OMSD – BP	Yellville-Summit
Koda Stewart	15	OMSD – BP	Yellville-Summit
Emmalea Stewart	11	OMSD – BP	Yellville-Summit
Levi Stewart	6	OMSD – BP	Yellville-Summit
Sadie Cope	9	OMSD – SJ	Valley Springs
Haddie Cope	7	OMSD – SJ	Valley Springs
Stetson Brewer	8	OMSD – BP	Valley Springs
Caraline Brewer	5	OMSD – BP	Valley Springs

In General Discussion, Mr. Lewis shared enrollment numbers as of February 15, 2023. OMSD reports an enrollment of 523 face-to-face students and a digital enrollment of 22, for a total student enrollment count of 545. Updates from Gov. Sanders Arkansas LEARNS Act were shared and HB1192 that would impact Education Cooperatives in Arkansas.

With no other items on the Agenda, Donald Morris made the motion to adjourn and Travis Dixon second. With a unanimous vote, the meeting was adjourned at 8:34 p.m....

Respectfully submitted.		
Board President, Mr. Travis Freeman	Secretary, Donald Morris	